The Quiet Revolution’s albums of the year: mid-year review

It’s that time again. Just over 6 months into 2019 and it’s been another superb year for music as far as I’m concerned. Here are my favourite releases to date.

They’re not in any order of preference, I like them all as much.

Please do feel free to comment and start a discussion going. And let me know what your favourite releases are…

William the Conqueror: Bleeding on the soundtrack (Loose Music)

Grace Petrie: Queer as folk (Robot needs a home)

Lau: Midnight and Closedown (Reveal Records)

Marry Waterson and Emily Barker: A window to other ways (One Little Indian)

Harbottle and Jonas: The sea is my brother (Brook View Records)

Katie Spencer: Weather Beaten (KRS Music)

Jeremy Tuplin: Pink Mirror (Trapped Animal Records)

The Delines: The Imperial (Decor Records)

Kalyn Fay: Good Company (Horton Records)

Peter James Millson: Low-key (Significant Records)

Megson: Con-tra-dic-shun (EDJ Records)

Abigail Lapell: Getaway (Coax Records)

Buffalo Blood: Buffalo Blood (Eel Pie Records)

Pete Gow: Here there’s no sirens (Clubhouse Records)

Lula Wiles: Love gone wrong (Smithsonian Folkways Recordings)

Sir Silence and Lady Hush: It’s time she said (Hushland Records)

Andrew Bird: My finest work yet (Lorna Vista Recordings)

Danni Nicholls: The Melted Morning (Danni Nicholls)

Sean Taylor: The Path into the blue (Sean Taylor)

Damien Jurado: In the shape of a storm (Loose Music)

Mike Vass: Save his calm (Unroofed Records)

Odette Michell: The Wildest Rose (Odette Michell)

Jacob and Drinkwater: This Old River (Polyphonic Records)

Jones: Carver’s Law (Meme Records)

Her Crooked Heart: To love to leave to live (Her Crooked Heart)

Anna Tivel: The Question (Fluff and Gravy Records)

Humbird: Pharmakon (Humbird)

The Alvarez Theory: The Alvarez Theory (Alvarez Theory)

Glen Hansard: This Wild Willing (Anti Records)

Ryan Bingham: American Love Song (Axter Bingham Records)

Son Volt: Union (Transmit Sound)

Josh Ritter: Fever Beats (Pytheas Recordings)

The Little Unsaid: Atomise (Reveal Records)

Tiny Ruins: Olympic Girls (Bella Union Records)

Edgelarks: Feather (Dragonfly Roots Records)

Peter Bruntnell: King of Madrid (Domestico Records)

Kenneth J Nash: The Explorer EP (Old Hotel Records)

Caroline Spence: Mint Condition (Rounder Records)

The Tallest Man on Earth: I love you, it’s a fever dream (Birds Records)

Paul McClure: Market Town (Clubhouse Records)

Nev Cottee: River’s Edge (Wonderful Sound)

Harry Harris: I feel drunk all the time (Harry Harris)

Norrie McCulloch: Compass (Black Dust Records)

Carly Dow: Comet (Carly Dow)

Findlay Napier and Megan Henwood: The Story Song Scientists EP (Dharma Records)

The Felice Brothers: Undress (Yep Roc)

Jamie Freeman: Dreams of falling (Union Music Label)

Emily Mae Winters: High Romance (Emily Mae Winters)

Bill Callahan: Shepherd in a sheepskin vest (Drag City)

The Willows: Through the wild (Elk Records)

Author: Adam Wilson

I'm a radio presenter with a taste for folk, americana, alt-country, world and blues. I broadcast a fortnightly long running show called The Quiet Revolution on HFM Radio, the local community radio station for Market Harborough, South Leicestershire and North Northamptonshire in the UK East Midlands. You can also listen to the show on 102.3 FM if you live in our transmission area, through your smart speaker and via the HFM Radio and Tune In Radio apps or online at

One thought on “The Quiet Revolution’s albums of the year: mid-year review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: