More words about current favourites

Following on from my blog post yesterday here’s the first of what may well be a number of sequels…

I’d like to credit Alec Bowman, a film-maker, photographer and fine musician in his own right for introducing me to Arborist. Here’s a song I’ve been playing on repeat, A Northern View from their same name album.

Find out more

Rachel Dadd was a later discovery for me towards the end of 2019. This is from her album Flux. The chorus is a current ear worm.

This is lovely too, Ned Roberts from his Dream Sweetheart album. The Songbird is one of many fine songs therein.

I’ve been a fan of Rose Cousins music for ages now and this is found on her superb latest album, Bravado. It’s called The Fraud.

The combination of The Ballroom Thieves and Darlingside is a delight. This is a stand-out song for me from their Unlovely album.

Words about some current favourites

Although I’m not likely to be on air in the immediate future I am still, as you might imagine, listening to lots of new releases as well as some long-standing favourites. Thought I’d share them with you. And if you like the sound of the artists I write about please do head to their websites from the links I’ve provided and buy a copy of their latest album or EP, whether CD, vinyl or download ideally directly from the artists shop, bandcamp page etc. This is more important than ever at the moment when gigs and festivals have been cancelled.

Waxahatchee – Can’t do much from the forthcoming album Saint Cloud.

Ian Roland and The Subtown Set – Double rainbow from the album of the same name.

Alec Bowman – Safe mode from I used to be sad and then I forgot.

Pre-order at

Alec’s album has been produced by the excellent Josienne Clarke.

I just adore Josienne Clarke’s In All Weather album and keep going back to it again and again. Heaps of tracks from this fine album have been woven into playlists for the Quiet Revolution over many months now. This is one of many favourites.

Serious Child – Brambles from Time in the trees.

Norma MacDonald One Man Band from Old Future.

Clem Snide – Roger Ebert from Forever Just Beyond

Siobhan Miller -All is not forgotten from All is not forgotten.

Miriam Jones – Warning from Between green and gone.

Hem – Rainy night in Georgia from No word from Tom.

Dan Whitehouse – What I didn’t see from Dreamland tomorrow.

3 March 2020 playlist

Krista Detor  I’m still here from Mudshow (2006 CoraZong Records)

Rose Cousins The return from Bravado (2020 Outside Music) 

Serious Child Brambles from Time in the trees (2020 Four Left Feet Records)

Ned Roberts Cross the boughs  from Dream Sweetheart (2020 Aveline Records)

Samantha Whates Sometimes somethings from Waiting Rooms (2019 Wonderful Sound) 

Her Silo Lowleenest from Don’t forget the heart that’s beating (2020 Her Silo)

Josienne Clarke (Learning to sail) In all weather from  In All Weather (2019 Rough Trade Records)

Sam Carter Fly the flag from Home Waters (2020 Captain Records) 

The Innocence Mission I’m on your side from See you tomorrow (2020 Bella Union Records)

Bonny Light Horseman Jane Jane from Bonny Light Horseman (2020 37d03d Records) 

Bird in the Belly New Gate Stone from  Neighbours and Sisters (2019 GF*M Records) 

The Hackles Peaches from A dobritch did as a dobritch should (2020 Jealous Butcher Records) 

Kirsty McGee and the Hobopop Collective Moving On from The Deafening Sound of Stars (2019 Hobopop Recordings) 

Salt House Fire light from Huam (2020 Hudson Records) 

Letitia VanSant Tin man from Circadian (2020 Letitia VanSant)

Brooks Williams King of California from Work my claim (2020 Red Guitar Blue Music) 

Bronwynne Brent Raincoat from Undercover (2020 Bronwynne Brent) 

The Waifs London Still from Up All Night (2002 Jarrah Records)

Catherine Rudie London is changing (radio edit) digital download single (2019 Hudson Records)

The Mining Co Frontier from Frontier (2019 Pindrop Records) 

Oysterband /June Tabor Love will tear us from Ragged Kingdom (2011 Topic Records) 

Rowan Godel These things take time from Where the wild horses roam (2020 Rowan Godel)

Laura Cantrell Bees from Humming by the flowered vine (2005 Matador Records) 

The Little Unsaid Nature from Music/Nature EP (2019 Reveal Records) 

Ewan McLennan Windrush from Borrowed Songs (2019 Ewan McLennan) 

 Eliza Carthy, Hannah James, Hannah Read, Hazel Askew, Jenn Butterworth, Jenny Hill, Karine Polwart, Kate Young, Mary MacMaster and Rowan Rheingans Road less travelled from Songs of Separation (2016 Navigator Records)